Concertino in G, Op. 11 – Küchler

German composer Ferdinand Küchler wrote this piece in 1934 and it became a staple in the beginner violin repertoire. Küchler was a renowned violin pedagogue, and his writings on teaching went on to shape violin pedagogy into the 1960s.

This concertino of three movements was written to be performed in the first position. The first movement, Allegro Moderato, is written in sonata form, features an arpeggiated main theme, a tranqillo second theme, with some scalic passages and a repeated quaver development of the first theme. The second movement, Andante, in 3/4, is in an extended Ternary form (AABA). The final movement, entitled Rondo with a tempo marking of Allegro, is written in rondo form, and includes a number of beautifully crafted melodies.

Subscribe to get access

Read more of this content when you subscribe today.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.